Australian Classic Wire Wheels Parsons Motors AKA Dr Jag
Alto Jaguar Jaguar Australia - F Type
Welcome ,
You are here: Registers

The Registers

As a marque that has existed since the late 1920s, initially under the SS banner, then owing to World War 2 changed it's name to Jaguar, they have produced an astonishingly large number of different body, chassis and engine styles.

The early robust pushrod motors were replaced post-war by the magnificent double overhead cam motor which eventually expanded in capacity and then in number of cylinders, to be finally replaced in the 1990’s. At the same time, body shapes broadened to include sportscars, gracious sports saloons and even a range of compact sports saloons.

Recognising the synergy between various models, all Jaguar cars can be categorised into “registers” where models with great similarities are grouped together (for Club purposes). Each register is co-ordinated by a Register Secretary.

These registers are listed below. By clicking on the “Click for More” button you will be able to gain information on any register and be introduced to the Register Secretary who is keen to help you with any enquiries.


The Heritage

The Heritage Register is a large Register in terms of the time span it covers. From the first Swallow Coach building S.S.1 in 1932 through to the Jaguar Mk X and 420G ending in 1970.

Classic XK

The cars in this register include the three XK models built between 1948 to 1961. these were the XK 120, XK 140 and the XK150. Also included in this register is the legendary C-Type, D-Type and XKSS.

E Type

Manufactured from 1961-1974. Engines are straight six 3.8 and 4.2 and V12 5.3 litre. Body shapes are Open Two Seat (OTS), Fixed Head Coupe (FHC) and 2+2.

Compact Saloons

In 1955 Jaguar added a Compact Saloon to their range. Officially this car was never called a Mark 1 but was later known by that name, It was followed by the Mark 2, the S-Type, 240, 340, and finally the 420 and the Daimler 250.

XJ Saloons

The XJ has endured from 1968 until today. There have been many styling changes and versions from the original Series I, II & III, then XJ 40, X300, X308 to today’s revolutionary X351, but they all have one thing in common, they wear the XJ badge.

XJ Coupe

The XJC is the rarest of all production-series Jaguars, with only 10,426 of these elegant, pillarless coupes being manufactured between April 1975 and November 1977, fitted with either a 4.2-litre six-cylinder engine or a 5.3-litre V12.

Grand Tourers

Jaguar released the iconic XJ-S in 1975, a Grand Tourer to replace the E-Type. In1996 it was replaced by the V8 engined XK8/XKR. In 2005, the XK8 was replaced by the X150 XK/XKR which continues to feature in Jaguar’s current range of cars.

Modern Saloons

This Register includes all the ‘compact’ Jaguar saloon models from 1999 to the present time. These include the S-Type, X-Type, the XF, the smaller XE and the SUV designs - F-Pace, and E-Pace. In late 2018 the all-electric I-Pace was introduced.


Jaguar cars are synonymous with motor sport, and this register is sporting based organising and running events such as Lap Dashes, Hill Climbs, Motorkhanas, SuperSprints and Tarmac Rallies.

Illawarra and Southern Highlands

This register is for the lovers of Jaguar cars who live in the Illawarra, Southern Highlands, and South Coast of NSW. They run their own events as they can't always get to events in the Sydney Metropolitan area.

Western District

As opposed to the other registers this one is geographicly based for the lovers of Jaguar cars who live west of the Blue mountains in NSW, these people run their own events as they can't always get to events based in the Sydney Metropolitan area.

© 2019 Jaguar Drivers Club of Australia PO Box 1485. Macquarie Park NSW 2113.